Browse By

WoW Cataclysm Changes For All

WoW Cataclysm changes the world of Warcraft as we know it. Changes for everyone. The storyline and landscape changes will happen for everyone regardless of expansion purchase. Those purchasing the expansion will access the new zones, races, and the level cap.

A wealth of information on the new WoW expansion was revealed at Blizzcon 2009.

New Races – Goblins (Horde) and Worgens (Alliance)

Goblins will be able to choose from all classes except paladin and druid. Racial abilities include a rocket belt that allows players to activate one of two rocket abilities every 2 minutes. First one enables player to jump up to 20 yards, the second shoots rocket at an enemy player within 30 yards. Also, every 30 minutes a goblin can summon a pack hobgoblin which acts as a personal servant (and grants bank access).

Goblins gain a racial bonus to their alchemy skills, and alchemist players get an increased benefit from health and mana potions. Goblins get 1% increase to attack and casting speed, and receive all of the best possible gold discounts regardless of reputations.

Worgens have a true form and human form. True form is cosmetic and provides no bonuses, and players are automatically transformed into true form during combat. Players who choose Worgens can choose from all classes except paladin and shaman. Worgens have a racial ability called Darkflight. This allows for a temporary increase in movement speed by 70% which can be used every 3 minutes (and this forces a player into true form as well). Worgens gain 1% increase to all damage, reduced duration from the effects of curses and disease, and a bonus to skinning and the ability to do it faster.


Race Class Combos

Horde Options: Troll Druid, Undead Hunter, Orc Mage, Tauren Paladin, Tauren Priest, Blood Elf Warrior
Alliance Options: Human Hunter, Dwarf Mage, Night Elf Mage, Gnome Priest, Dwarf Shamans

Revamp of all zones, five new zones

The Eastern Kingdoms and Kalimdor have been forever changed due to the Cataclysm. Darkshore to Broken Barrens were sundered in two. With the transformation there will be all new quests, art, items, updates to existing quests, and improved zone-to-zone questing flow, and phased terrain.

New secondary profession: Archaeology

Archaeology allows players to unlock new abilities and rewards by discovering ancient treasures. The profession is used to uncover clues hidden in the world, such as troll relics or map fragments, and decipher the meaning. After manipulating the pieces they will be able to learn the location of a treasure cache or valuable artifact. Artifacts are highly sought after by the Archaeology Society, which is rumored to pay handsomely in gold and items for the return of these artifacts. Masters of archaeology can find Titan artifacts and earn special currency which can be used to unlock character paths and allow further character customization.

Two new starting zones 1-15

New level 1-15 zones have been created. The Lost Isles will be the starting point for the new Goblins and Gilneas for the Worgens.

Will be able to fly everywhere in Azeroth (All cities in Classic world will be flyable)

Players who can fly can now use their flying mounts to go anywhere in Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms.

Path of Titans, alternative advancement where paths are not class dependent

The idea is similar to talents, but rather than earning points on a per-level basis, players will earn points to assign by completing quests, defeating certain raid encounters, and completing other objectives in the game. Paths will be shared among multiple classes and themed around the Titans, creators of Azeroth, such as Aman’Thul, Aggramar, or Khaz’goroth (among others).

Level Cap at 85

80-85 will be able to access newly opened areas such as Uldum and Deepholm (where Deathwing emerged). Max-level players will have more content from the start than previous expansions such as optional harder modes of all raids, new achievements (including guild-based achievements as part of the new guild-progression feature). Other zones Uldum — Unearth the answers to some of Azeroth’s greatest mysteries in the land of Uldum, a vast repository of ancient Titan knowledge, The Sunken City of Vashj’ir (Underwater Zone) — This great lost city lies on the ocean floor and contains the entrance to the Abyssal Maw, Deepholm — Subterranean dangers await within the twisted caverns of Deathwing’s domain, the elemental plane of earth, Mount Hyjal — This land, still scarred by the battle that took place here against the Burning Legion, is home to the regrowing World Tree, Nordrassil, and contains the gateway to the Firelands, Twilight Highlands — The dangerous Twilight’s Hammer clan dwells here, working in the shadow of the fabled stronghold of Grim Batol.